Enabling & Restricting Email Notifications

 

Group members are enabled to receive notifications on recent activity from their group(s). These notifications will come across in the portal, in the mobile application (when downloaded), and via email.

A Group Administrator or Account Administrator has the ability to change settings for the group to change these notifications and the cadence of emails to Group Members. Also, an individual group member has the ability to override these settings to Enable and Restrict some of the notification settings within the Clinked portal by using their Personal Setting.

In this article, we will review the following to help both Group Administrators and Group Members choose the right email notification process for yourself:

What is the default notification set up? 

When a group is created and members are added, the default settings are set up to allow the members to get notification of activity across their group(s) on the content they are involved with. This means when a piece of content they have created is commented on, annotated, assigned, etc. they will receive a notification. Also, if they have been assigned a task or invited to an event, they will also receive a notification. 

How to notify members by email when content is uploaded?

You can notify all members of a group when you upload content, this can be done two ways. Firstly, you can configure the Group Settings to send an email notification to group members every time new content is uploaded. Alternatively, when uploading a file, you can notify all or selected group members upon completing the upload.

How can I notify all group members every time a user uploads content?

Step 1

Go to the group that you would like to add this setting to.

Step 2

Select Settings from the top right corner of the home page.

Screenshot_2020-07-02_at_16.50.09.png

Step 3

Next, scroll down to the Notifications section and tick the box for Configure new content notifications for members in group, you can then choose if you would like group members to receive these notifications immediately, daily or weekly.

Screenshot_2020-07-02_at_16.51.42.png

 

Step 4

Scroll down to the bottom of the page and select Update.

 

How can I notify group members when I have uploaded a specific piece of content?

Now I will show you how you can notify group members that you have uploaded a specific piece of content, without enabling this feature for all future content uploaded within the group.

Step 1

First, you will need to upload a file to one of your groups.

Screenshot_2020-07-02_at_17.07.40.png

Step 2

Once the file has been uploaded there will be a pop-up message at the top of the screen that says You have uploaded a new file. Notify Others.

Screenshot_2020-07-02_at_17.10.47.png

 

Step 3

Select Notify Others, it will then give you the option to type a message which will be shared with all members of the group via email notification, along with a link to the file.

Screenshot_2020-07-02_at_17.12.02.png

Step 4

Type your message if required and then select Share.

 

How do I notify selected members by email when I upload files?

Step 1

Upload a file to a group within your portal

Step 2

A message will pop-up at the top of your screen that says You have uploaded a new file. Notify Others. Select Notify Others.

Screenshot_2020-07-02_at_17.20.35.png

 

Step 3

If you don’t want to notify the whole group you can delete the @mention of the group, and just @ the members that you do want to notify

Screenshot_2020-07-02_at_17.21.38.png

Step 4

This will then send an email notification to the users that you tagged, displaying your message as well as a link to the file.

Screenshot_2020-07-02_at_17.22.41.png

 

How do I turn off my email notifications?

If you would like to turn off email notifications, you can do this by going to your Personal Settings > Notifications. You cannot turn off notifications that involve you as this allows you to respond to clients quickly when you are mentioned.

Turn off content following email notifications by selecting Edit and then choosing Never from the drop-down menu, then select Update.

 Screenshot_2020-07-27_at_16.11.15.png

This will stop you from receiving email notifications when any activity such as comments or updates have been made on content that you have created, contributed to or explicitly followed.

Adjust group settings: You can alter the group setting notifications of each group you are a member of to 'never' (including 'Notifications on content I follow). Clicking 'Edit' will let you select several options including 'never' and 'daily'.

i.e. if you want to receive notifications for some groups but not others. (as pictured below).

Screenshot_2020-07-27_at_16.16.37.png

 

Another form of generating email notifications in Clinked is by @mentioning, view the article: https://clinked.com/features/mention-messaging/

 

How do I turn off email notifications for entire groups?

If you want to disable content following email notifications for an entire group, then you can also do this, and it will override all group members personal notification settings.

Step 1

First go to the group that you would like to turn off content following email notifications for and select Settings from the top right corner of the page

Step 2

Next scroll down to the Notifications section and tick the box Disable Content Following E-mail Notifications.

Screenshot_2020-07-27_at_16.18.06.png

Step 3

Scroll down to the bottom of the page and select Update.

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.