In Clinked, you can receive notifications via email, portal and mobile. The notifications you will receive will depend on both group notification settings set by an Administrator and your personal settings.
Notifications provide a way to let you know when content you're involved with has an interaction within your groups. Notifications alert group members of changes or updates on the content they’re involved in. Clinked provides each member notifications of activity for the group(s) they are a member of.
This article will explain:
- What is the default set-up for notifications?
- Group Settings Notification Options
- Personal Settings Notification Options
- Notify Others
- Content Following
What is the default set-up for notifications?
When a group is created notifications will be available to added member of the group when content updates have taken place. By default, once a member has either created or interacted with a piece of content notifications going forward will be provided on this content. New content added will not automatically generate notifications - however, the “Notify Others” option upon upload of files offers a notification trigger. Also, when those made assignee for tasks or invited to events will receive notifications for these.
Group Settings Notification Options
If an Account Administrator or Group Administrator would be like to make changes to the default settings, there are 3 settings that can be changed in the Group settings. Note: notifications of tasks, events or @ mentions cannot be turned off.
To change notifications within a group, as an administrator navigate to the settings page, and scroll down to 'Notifications' as shown below:
Here you will have 3 options:
- Disable Content Following Email Notifications
- Configure New Content Notifications for Members
- Configure overdue tasks Notifications for Members
Option 1: Disable Content Following Email Notifications
Select this option if you want to stop all group members receiving email notifications on the content they've interacted with and, therefore, follow (i.e. indicated by the red flag next to the content) in the group. This will include the content of files, notes, and discussions.
What is the user experience of selecting the below option?
Selecting the 'disable' option means that group members will not receive email notifications on the content of files, notes and discussions that they follow. This means if a file has been updated or a discussion has a new comment, they will not receive an email notification. However, they will continue to receive notifications in the portal.
Option 2: Configure new content notifications for members
When new content such as files, folders, notes or discussions are added to a Clinked group, by default member's will not receive notifications.
In settings, there is an option to enable this so that members of the group will receive a notification when new content (files, folders, notes, discussions) is added by checking off the 'configure new content notifications for members' as shown below. Also, you'll need to select the frequency of notifications here for the group. Note: This setting can be overridden by the user's personal settings if they choose.
Option 3: Configure overdue tasks notifications for members
Assignees of tasks will always receive a notification, both portal and email, of that assignment or updates to the task progress by default. They will not, however, receive notification of overdue tasks by default.
If an administrator would like assignees to receive notification of overdue task, this can be adjusted in group settings. Check off this option as shown below to enable group members to receive email notifications relating to overdue tasks. Also, you'll need to select the frequency of notifications here for the group. Note: This setting can be overridden by the user's personal settings if they choose.
Personal Settings Notification Options
Personal notification settings can be set by each member of a Clinked account for Email notifications for universal application and specific groups you're involved. To access this area, navigate to the dropdown arrow to the right of your profile image and select 'personal settings', then select 'Notifications' as shown below.
As shown below, the top section entitled 'E-mail Notification Settings' is the email notification settings for your account in universally.
To ensure you do not miss notifications on @mentions, assignments or invitations, the first setting of 'Notifications that involve me' will always be active and set to 'Immediately'.
The following 2 options can be adjusted for your personal preferences as discussed below:
- 'Notifications on content I follow' pertain to content updates to files, folders, notes and discussions you follow. This can be adjusted to the cadence you prefer for your email notifications as shown below:
- 'Notifications on overdue tasks' by default this will be set to Never as with group settings. However, this can be adjusted to the cadence you prefer for your email notifications as shown above.
In addition to those universal settings, the second section is where you can add groups to alter the frequency of the email notifications you are receiving for specific groups using the following 3 options:
- Disable Content Following Email Notifications
- Configure new content notifications for members
- Configure overdue tasks notifications for members
To access this area, navigate to the dropdown bar below the universal settings areas to find the group you'd like to adjust the options of as shown below with Fund I. Here this options set by the group's administrator will show and can be adjusted:
Click ‘edit’ to select frequency options:
As an example, above we have added the group ‘Fund I’ and set the settings to ‘Immediately’, ‘Never’, ‘Never’. For instance, if you only wanted to receive email content updates for a specific group daily rather than immediately this is where you could alter it for yourself.
Notify Others for Files
Another way to ensure group members are notified is to use the 'Notify Others' functionality in the Files tool.
When uploading files, one will be prompted to “notify others” with a popup like this at the top of the screen:
By clicking the “notify others” link you’ll have an automated note shown:
The message will automatically include all group members as shown above in the highlighted text regardless of the folder or file permissions.
To adjust this to specific people, simply change the highlighted text with an @mention such as shown below to only go to 1 team member Evelyn by using @mention:
When hitting Share, the individual will receive a portal & email notification as below:
Any Group Member can choose to follow or unfollow a piece of content by looking for the Red Flag for that content. When enabled, this will be red to signal you are following the content and will receive notifications. When disabled, the flag will be grey to signal you are not following the content and will not receive notifications.
Below is an example of this in Notes, you will find the content following the flag to the left-hand-side of the Notes:
Below is an example of this in Files, you will find the content following the flag to the right-hand-side of the files under the three dots icon:
Hope this helps you understand how notifications work in Clinked. Here is a linked to related topics you may find useful:
- What are Notifications?
- How do Email Notifications work in Tasks & Events?
- What are Request Notifications?